World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series Return to Red River Valley Speedway in 2017

WEST FARGO, N.D. (December 8, 2016) – In 2016 Jake Bitker and Nick Skalicky revived Red River Valley Speedway and brought back weekly racing to one of the country’s most historic dirt tracks. In 2017 Bitker and Skalicky are taking things one step further. They have inked a deal with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series, which will bring the country’s premier dirt track touring series back to Red River Valley Speedway (RRVS) on Saturday, June 17th, 2017.

“The race fans will see a fantastic show, I believe,” said Skalicky. “It’s pretty exciting. The World of Outlaws have a long history with Red River Valley Speedway and we are happy we can keep that going.”

The 2017 date will come nearly five years to the day when the World of Outlaws (WoO) last visited the Red River Valley Fairgrounds in June of 2012, which was the first WoO show on the newly reconfigured and racy three-eighths mile oval. During time trials of that event a new track record was set by Brownsburg, Indiana’s Joey Saldana with a blistering time of 12.566 seconds, averaging 107.402mph.

“I’m looking forward to seeing what the drivers think of the track. We’ve made some changes to turn four over the offseason,” continued Skalicky. “I’m interested to see what kind of crowd we get, too. The Outlaws always bring in a lot of people so I think it’s going to be a pretty big night.”

Along with the WoO, the event will be co-sanctioned with the Northern Outlaw Sprint Association (NOSA), the regional 410c.i. Sprint Car series. When the NOSA Sprints competed at RRVS last July, 33 Sprint Cars were checked in for the Red River Valley Fair special. As of now there are 14 confirmed drivers that will compete full-time on the WoO tour, combine that with other regional Midwest drivers and there is potential for a great field of cars and talent.

Despite being just the second date for the WoO in eight years at RRVS, the return of the “Greatest Show on Dirt” will mark their 31st appearance to the West Fargo dirt track, dating back to 1981.

A support class for the event is still to be determined.

Stay tuned for ticket pricing and information.

Red River Valley Speedway will be hitting the ground running in 2017 and plans to announce its complete 2017 weekly schedule around the new year.

Stay connected and follow us at:
Phone: 701-388-6637
Snapchat: rrvspeedway

Previous World of Outlaws A-Feature Winners:
2012 – Sammy Swindell on June 16
2008 – Daryn Pittman on August 12
2007 – Jac Haudenschild on June 30
2006 – Donny Schatz on June 17
2005 – Jason Meyers on July 2, Steve Kinser on Aug. 16
2004 – Joey Saldana on July 10
2003 – Danny Lasoski on June 14
2002 – Donny Schatz on July 6
2001 – Craig Dollansky on July 7
2000 – Sammy Swindell on July 8
1999 – Steve Kinser on July 10
1998 – Sammy Swindell on July 11
1997 – Stevie Smith on July 12
1996 – Sammy Swindell on July 7
1995 – Sammy Swindell on July 8
1994 – Steve Kinser on July 10
1993 – Johnny Herrera on July 10
1992 – Steve Kinser on July 12
1991 – Doug Wolfgang on July 6
1990 – Doug Wolfgang on July 7
1989 – Jeff Swindell on July 8
1988 – Doug Wolfgang on July 9
1987 – Steve Kinser on July 11
1986 – Steve Kinser on July 12
1985 – Steve Kinser on July 13
1984 – Steve Kinser on July 14
1983 – Sammy Swindell on July 9
1982 – Steve Kinser on July 14
1981 – Sammy Swindell on July 13

Leave a Reply