Round 5: Spencer Wilson Tops Gustin, Marriott for Arizona Mod Tour Win at Canyon Speedway Park

PEORIA, Ariz. (February 16, 2017) – The outstanding parity of the inaugural IMCA Arizona Modified Tour continued Thursday night at Canyon Speedway Park as Spencer Wilson became the fifth different winner in as many nights. Seventy-one IMCA Modifieds were checked in for the first of two nights at the Peoria, Ariz. one-third mile dirt oval.

After getting by Ryan Roath on lap two, Wilson took command of the race lead and set sail. At the midpoint of the race, Wilson had amassed a three second advantage over second place runner, Jimmy Gustin and looked to have the race in hand. However, Wilson encountered heavy lapped traffic in the latter stages of the race, which allowed Gustin to erase Wilson’s huge lead in a matter of a few laps.

With Gustin all over his rear bumper in the closing laps, Wilson made a quick and definitive move to get by a lapped car, which ultimately sealed the win for him.

“I knew I had to hold the bottom,” said Wilson in victory lane. “To beat the best in the business, it feels great.”

Wilson left the door open for Gustin on a few occasions while the lead duo battled in lapped traffic. Each time Gustin went for it, but he was never able to clear Wilson to take the lead. With eight to go, Gustin’s best opportunity to get by Wilson came out of turn four when Gustin pulled even with the Minot, N.D. driver. However, they made fairly significant contact as they fought for the same real estate down the front stretch and Wilson maintained the point.

“I got underneath [Wilson] a couple times. That last time I just didn’t see his blinker and we ended up second,” said Gustin after the race. “But I finally beat Hunter [Marriott]. That’s what I’ve been wanting to do all weekend.”

Marriott, Josh McGaha, and Jeff James rounded out the top five.

Cory Hemphill turned in a stout performance in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main event. The Yuma, Ariz. driver took the lead from Jason George on lap four before opening up a comfortable advantage over the field. Hemphill withstood a late charge from Robbie Conway, who was fresh off a victory at Arizona Speedway Tuesday night, and went on to take the win.

Conway, Brady Bjella, Miles Morris, and Austin Kiefer rounded out the top five.

Andrew Altenburg jumped out to the lead to begin the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main event and paced the field until lap nine. That’s when Weyburn, Saskatchewan driver, Brendon LaBatte, passed Altenburg to take over the point. LaBatte led the final 11 laps to take the win over Troy Jerovetz, Jason Rodgers, Race Fisher, and Elijah Zebenberger.

Feature Results:

Modifieds – 1. Spencer Wilson; 2. Jimmy Gustin; 3. Hunter Marriott; 4. Josh McGaha; 5. Jeff James; 6. Chase Allen; 7. Ryan Roath; 8. Curt Lund; 9. Shawn Strand; 10; Mike Wedelstadt; 11. Chaz Baca Jr.; 12. Tim Ward; 13. Jesse Sobbing; 14. Lucas Schott; 15. Ethan Dotson; 16. Jesse Williamson; 17. Bob Moore; 18. Scott Sluka; 19. Ryan Gaylord; 20. Garrett Funk; 21. Jerry Schram; 22. Sean Jerovetz; 23. Casey Skyberg; 24. Trent Guest; 25. Zack Madrid; 26; Tyler Peterson; 27. Berndon Gemmill; 28. Clint Luellen; 29. Troy Gemmill

SportMods – 1. Cory Hemphill; 2. Robbie Conway; 3. Brady Bjella; 4. Miles Morris; 5. Austin Kiefer; 6. Speedy Madrid; 7. Tom Wyman; 8. Ron Poe; 9. Eric Folstad; 10. Terry Bahr; 11. Dennis Gates; 12. Kyle Smith; 13. Dwayne Melvin; 14. Jason George; 15. Brian Roode; 16. Dale Kunz; 17. Mike Tanner; 18; Dylan Schriner

Stock Cars – 1. Brendon LaBatte; 2. Troy Jerovetz; 3. Jason Rodgers; 4. Race Fisher; 5. Elijah Zebenberger; 6. Cody Center; 7. Aaron Spangler; 8. Tony Hill; 9. Larry Brigner; 10. George Fronsman; 11. Jay Johnson; 12. Jody York; 13. Andrew Altenburg; 14. Richard Veralrud; 15. Lonnie Foss; 16. Manny Baldiviez; 17. Joe O’Bryan

Leave a Reply