Dave Shipley Tops Big Modified Field at Red River Valley Speedway

WEST FARGO – A stout field of 28 IMCA modifieds made up the starting grid for the 25-lap main event Friday night at Red River Valley Speedway. Dave Shipley of Fargo picked up the win, ending Austin Arneson’s stranglehold on victory lane.

Shipley started ninth on the field before charging into the lead. The driver of the Dakota Cat No. 72 topped fellow Fargo driver, Cale Arneson, who finished second. Michael Greseth, Rob VanMil, and Dale Kraling rounded out the top five.

IMCA hobby stock drivers Brandon Schmidt and Tim Church have been battling each other hard all season long. More often than not, it’s for the win.

That was the case again Friday night at the high-banked three-eighths mile oval. Both Schmidt and Church started in the fourth row, but they didn’t stay back there long. The two drivers rubbed fenders as they fought for the win in the closing laps.

At the checkers, Schmidt took the win over Church to record his fifth triumph of the 2017.

Entering the night, Jesse Skalicky was riding a wave of momentum after picking up the biggest win of his career Tuesday night at Hancock County Speedway in Britt, Iowa.

The Fargo driver used that momentum to carry him from his 11th starting position into the lead of the IMCA sportmod main event. Skalicky held off Moorhead’s Luke Johnson, who came in second, and was followed by Kelly Jacobson, Chris VanMil, and Austin Veralrud.

Mike Anderson of Walcott started on the pole of the IMCA stock car feature and picked up the win over Horace’s Rick Schulz. The win marks Anderson’s first of the season at RRVS.

Racing continues next Friday night at Red River Valley Speedway, starting at 7pm. Buffalo River Race Park in Glyndon, Minn. will also be in action this Sunday, June 25th, with racing starting at 6pm.


IMCA Modifieds:

Feature – 1. Dave Shipley, Fargo, N.D.; 2. Cale Arneson, Fargo, N.D.; 3. Michael Greseth, Harwood, N.D.; 4. Rob VanMil, Barnesville, Minn.; 5. Dale Kraling, Mayville, N.D.


IMCA SportMods:

Feature – 1. Jesse Skalicky, Fargo, N.D.; 2. Luke Johnson, Moorhead, Minn.; 3. Kelly Jacobson, Fargo, N.D.; 4. Chris VanMil, Barnesville, Minn.; 5. Austin Veralrud, Fargo, N.D.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Feature – 1. Mike Anderson, Walcott, N.D.; 2. Rick Schulz, Horace, N.D.; 3. Tim Compson, Valley City, N.D.; 4. John Sandvig, West Fargo, N.D.; 5. Kelly Jacobson, Fargo, N.D.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Feature – 1. Brandon Schimdt, Hillsboro, N.D.; 2. Tim Church, Moorhead, Minn.; 3. Torey Fischer, West Fargo, N.D.; 4. Alyssa White, West Fargo, N.D.; 5. Maranda Borg, Harwood, N.D.

Leave a Reply