Hall Stands Tall at Buffalo River Race Park

GLYNDON, Minn. – Buffalo River Race Park was back in action Sunday evening with 71 race teams checked in.

Two weeks after finishing second to Rob VanMil in one of the closest finishes the speedway has seen, Tyler Hall found victory lane in the IMCA modifieds.

Len Kniep of Gardner, N.D. got out to the early lead from the third starting position and led the first nine circuits around the semi-banked quarter-mile oval.

Kniep enjoyed the lead for the first half of the race until Hall came charging through the field from the seventh position. On lap five, Hall moved into second after getting by Brennan Borg and set his sights on Kniep.

Hall took the lead just before the halfway point, but he had eighth place starter, Rob VanMil, hot on his heels. VanMil, who entered the night undefeated at BRRP, was within striking distance of Hall as another thrilling finish looked to be in the making between the two Minnesota drivers.

With eight laps to go, VanMil’s No. 4D machine came to rest as it had apparently suffered a mechanical failure, ending his night.

On the ensuing restart, Hall held off Allen Kent of West Fargo to pick up the win.

Luke Johnson picked up his third consecutive IMCA sport mod feature win at Buffalo River. The Moorhead, Minn. driver made his way through the field after starting in the seventh position. The margin of victory was a staggering six seconds over Kelly Jacobson, who finished another three seconds ahead of Vince Jegtvig.

Tim Church picked up the IMCA hobby stock feature win. Church returned to action this week after severely damaging his car when a steering component failed just moments after winning the feature at Norman County Raceway on June 1st.

Brendan Mullen picked up his first career BRRP win in the Lightning Sprints. The young driver from Grand Forks, N.D. started on the pole and held off Kevin Thomas, Sr., who has claimed two checkered flags thus far in 2017.

Defending track champion, Josh Julsrud, won the INEX legends feature after starting in the sixth spot. Julsrud held of Tim Estenson, who was looking for his third feature win of the weekend.

Chase Golliet won the IMCA sport compact feature.

Racing in the Fargo-Moorhead area continues this Saturday night at Red River Valley Speedway with the highly anticipated return of the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars. Buffalo River Race Park follows with racing starting at 6pm on Sunday.


IMCA Modifieds:

Feature – 1. Tyler Hall, Fertile, Minn.; 2. Allen Kent, West Fargo, N.D.; 3. Len Kniep, Gardner, N.D.; 4. Bryce Borgen, Perley, Minn.; 5. Cody Peterson, Glyndon, Minn.

IMCA Sport Mods:

Feature – 1. Luke Johnson, Moorhead, Minn.; 2. Kelly Jacobson, Fargo, N.D.; 3. Vince Jegtvig, Dilworth, Minn.; 4. Chris VanMil, Barnesville, Minn.; 5. Dan Dowling, Wheatland, N.D.

NLSA Lightning Sprints:

Feature – 1. Brendan Mullen, Grand Forks, N.D.; 2.Kevin Thomas Sr., Cullman, ALA.; 3. Presley Truedson, Kennedy, Minn.; 4. Ale Truscinski, Greenbush, Minn.; 5. Alan Truscinski, Greenbush, Minn.

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Feature – 1. Tim Church, Moorhead, Minn.; 2. Brandon Schmidt, Hillsboro, Minn.; 3. Nick Nelson, Georgetown, Minn.; 4. Maranda Borg, Harwood, N.D.; 5. Eric Novacek, West Fargo, N.D.

INEX Legends:

Feature – 1. Josh Julsrud, Barnesville, Minn.; 2. Tim Estenson, Fargo, N.D.; 3. Dauntae Martin, Bismarck, N.D.; 4. Preston Martin, Bismarck, N.D.; 5. Andrew Jochim, Glyndon, Minn.

IMCA Sport Compacts:

Feature – 1.  Chase Golliet, Fargo, N.D.; 2. Tanner Engen, Detroit Lakes, Minn.; 3. Levi Lease, Harwood, N.D.; 4. Hunter Green, Hawley, Minn.; 5. Kyle Helgedalen, Ulen, Minn.


Leave a Reply