Thomas Sr. & Mullen Score NLSA Wins!

(June 12, 2017) – Race No. 5 of the 2017 NLSA Lightning Sprint season was held Saturday night at Greenbush Race Park, where 16 drivers were checked in for battle.

Kevin Thomas Sr. and Brendan Mullen led the field to the green, with Thomas Sr. getting the advantage on the opening lap.

Fourth place starter, Presley Truedson, grabbed the second spot from Mullen on lap three before setting her sights on Thomas Sr. for the race lead.

Greenbush’s Dexter Dvergsten came charging through the field late, Dvergsten, who started fifth, moved into second with four laps to go.

Thomas Sr. was able to hold off Dvergsten in the closing laps to take his third win of the season by just under eight-tenths of a second.

Truedson, Mullen, and Kelsi Pederson rounded out the top five.

On Sunday, the series returned to the semi-banked quarter-mile of Buffalo River Race Park.

Brendan Mullen became the NLSA’s newest winner as he led all 20 trips around BRRP to claim his first career win. Mullen got the lead on the opening lap from the pole position with Truedson hot on his heels.

However, Thomas Sr. was looking to sweep the weekend as the eighth place starter moved into second on lap five. Mullen was able to keep the Cullman, Ala. driver at bay throughout the second half of the race as the young Mullen held on to grab his first checkered flag.

Thomas Sr., Truedson, Alex Truscinski, and Alan Truscinski rounded out the top five.

Upcoming Events:

June 17th: Greenbush Race Park – Greenbush, Minn.

June 18th: Buffalo River Race Park – Glyndon, Minn.

Leave a Reply