Event Preview: NLRA Late Models

By Mike Spieker

ADA, Minn. (August 1, 2017) – This Thursday night the NLRA Late Models will roar into Norman County Raceway for the first and only time this season. The upper Midwest’s best drivers will take on the high-banked three-eighths mile dirt oval, including defending WISSOTA Late Model national champion Dustin Strand, three-time and defending NLRA series champion Brad Seng, and even eight-time and defending World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series Donny Schatz.

Before the races, Schatz, Seng, and Strand will be hosting a meet and greet from 6:00pm to 6:30pm. They will be in front of the grandstands signing autographs, handing out photos and taking pictures.

Coming into the night, Ricky Weiss and Dustin Strand are deadlocked atop the NLRA point standings. Weiss has one NLRA feature win to his credit this season to Strand’s two, but Weiss edged out Strand for the win when the NLRA Late Models were last in action on July 22nd at Devils Lake Speedway. The only other driver to win an NLRA event this season not named Weiss or Strand is Brad Seng. Seng picked up his lone win at Greenbush Race Park on July 15th.

Seng was the only NLRA series regular to capture at win at NCR last year. Seng won the opening night of the two-night Norman County Fair special, while Jeff Wildung raced to the win on night two.

Donny Schatz has competed in two NLRA series events thus far in 2017, finishing second on both occasions. Schatz last ran his Late Model last Thursday at I-94 Speedway in Fergus Falls, Minn., where he raced to a fifth place finish in a field of 28. Schatz has one Norman County Raceway win, which came in 2013 in NOSA Sprint Car action. On Thursday, he will be gunning for that elusive Late Model win at NCR.

Racing, which is presented by Myles Bosh Enterprises and CHS, kicks off at 7pm.

Previous NLRA Feature Winners at the Norman County Raceway:

2016 – Brad Seng

    Jeff Wildung

2015 – Ricky Weiss

    Ricky Weiss

    Don Shaw

2014 – Jeff Wildung

    Cody Skytland

2013 – Zach Johnson

    Brad Seng

    Kent Arment

2012 – Brad Seng

    Dustin Strand

2011 – Pat Doar

2009 – Cody Skytland

2008 – Troy Olson

2004 – John Seitz

2001 – John Seitz

1998 – Mitch Johnson

Leave a Reply