Omdahl’s Devils Lake Dominance Continues!

Photo by Jess Voll. 

CRARY, N.D. (August 5, 2017) – Nick Omdahl raced to his second win of the 2017 season Saturday night at Devils Lake Speedway after a dominating performance during the 25-lap main event.

Jackson Moffett and Tom Egeland paced the field of 19 Buffalo Wild Wings NOSA Sprint Cars to the green flag, with Moffett taking the early lead. Egeland rode in the second spot until Omdahl, who started sixth, took the position on lap three.

From there Omdahl set his sights on Moffett. Omdahl used the low groove in turns three and four to take the lead at the completion of lap four.

One lap later, Jordan Graham moved into second, just before the caution flew on lap six.

On the restart, Friday night’s winner at River Cities Speedway, Casey Mack, drove by both Moffett and Graham to move into second. At the midway point of the feature, Omdahl had checked out from the field by over a straightaway, but a caution put Mack right beside him on the restart.

As the race resumed, Moffett moved into second, while Omdahl drove out to a comfortable lead once again.

Another caution flew with under 10 to go. On the restart, 2014 NOSA champion, Austin Pierce moved by Mack and Moffett to claim second, as Shane Roemeling followed him into third.

Omdahl took the white flag and charged into turn one when the final caution flew for Graham, who coasted to a stop on the outside of turns three and four, setting up a green-white-checkered finish.

With Pierce right behind him on the single-file restart, Omdahl hammered the top lane, which had rubbered up throughout the duration of the main event. The East Grand Forks, Minn. driver quickly opened up a five car length lead as he cruised to his third career Devils Lake Speedway triumph.

Pierce, Roemeling, Moffett, and Mack rounded out the top five.

A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 0-Nick Omdahl, [6]; 2. 2A-Austin Pierce, [7]; 3. 31-Shane Roemeling, [5]; 4. 91M-Jackson Moffett, [1]; 5. 8-Casey Mack, [8]; 6. 8H-Jade Hastings, [10]; 7. 20A-Jordan Adams, [9]; 8. 26-Blake Egeland, [3]; 9. 10TRB-Bob Martin, [13]; 10. 27X-Trevor Mell, [11]; 11. 14-Tom Egeland, [2]; 12. 4M-Cale Mack, [16]; 13. 99-Jordan Graham, [4]; 14. 24-Jon Sorenson, [14]; 15. 12-Brayden Pengilly, [17]; 16. 20-Kevin Lawson, [15]; 17. 6-Zach Wilde, [19]; 18. 6A-Terry Arneson, [18]; 19. 55-Sam Miller, [20]; 20. 20L-Dusty Lawson, [12]

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 2A-Austin Pierce, [4]; 2. 99-Jordan Graham, [1]; 3. 91M-Jackson Moffett, [3]; 4. 14-Tom Egeland, [6]; 5. 20-Kevin Lawson, [2]; 6. 24-Jon Sorenson, [7]; 7. (DNF) 6-Zach Wilde, [5]

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 0-Nick Omdahl, [4]; 2. 26-Blake Egeland, [1]; 3. 20A-Jordan Adams, [3]; 4. 8H-Jade Hastings, [5]; 5. 10TRB-Bob Martin, [6]; 6. 6A-Terry Arneson, [2]

Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 8-Casey Mack, [6]; 2. 31-Shane Roemeling, [5]; 3. 27X-Trevor Mell, [1]; 4. 20L-Dusty Lawson, [3]; 5. 4M-Cale Mack, [2]; 6. 12-Brayden Pengilly, [4]; 7. (DNF) 55-Sam Miller,


Leave a Reply