Zach Madrid Charges to Arizona Mod Tour Win at Canyon

By Mike Spieker

PEORIA, Ariz. (February 15, 2018) – After rain washed out round five, the Karl Performance Arizona IMCA Modified Tour was back in action Thursday night at Canyon Speedway Park. Zach Madrid became the fourth different winner through the first five races after a dominating performance in the IMCA Modified main event.

Madrid started eighth on the grid, but quickly made his way through the field on the fast, tacky, and somewhat choppy racing surface. Madrid cracked the top three on lap eight as front row starter, Chad Anderson, paced the field.

Lapped traffic played a factor as the leaders battled for the top spot. With 14 to go, Andersen made heavy contact with a lapped car in turn four. That allowed polesitter, Marriott, and Madrid to move into second and third, respectively.

At the halfway point, Madrid pulled even with Marriott down the front stretch amidst heavy lapped traffic. Madrid powered by Marriott, who had won two of the first four events entering the night, to take the point.

Once out front, Madrid opened up a comfortable lead as Marriott and Andersen continued to fight for second.

Madrid cruised to the checkered to claim his first career Karl Performance Arizona IMCA Modified Tour win. Marriott held off Andersen for second as Anthony Roth and Shane DeVolder rounded out the top five.

Hunter Marriott extended his point lead with the runner-up finish. He brings in a 52 point advantage over Ethan Dotson entering round seven at Canyon Speedway Park.

Chase Alves, Arizona Mod Tour

Chase Alves scored the IMCA Northern SportMod feature win. Alves led the final 11 circuits en route to the victory. Jason George, Kyle Smith, Fred Ryland, and Chase Rudolf rounded out the top five.

Arie Schouten’s consistency has him atop the Northern SportMod points. He currently holds a 14 point lead over Fred Ryland.

The Karl Performance Arizona IMCA Modified Tour continues Friday, Feb. 16th at Cocopah Speedway.

Photos by Melissa Coker.

IMCA Modifieds

  1. Zach Madrid, 2. Hunter Marriott, 3. Chad Andersen, 4. Anthony Roth, 5. Shane DeVolder, 6. Lucas Schott, 7. Alex Stanford, 8. Casey Arneson, 9. Chaz Baca Jr., 10. Ryan Gaylord, 11. Casey Skyberg, 12. Paul Stone, 13. Jeff Larson, 14. Lucas Rodin, 15. Ethan Dotson, 16. Kody Scholpp, 17. Trent Guest, 18. Brant Schlafman, 19. Bricen James, 20. Shane Mills, 21. Garth Dushanek, 22. Wade Taylor, 23. Chris Abelson, 24. Shawn Strand, 25. Spencer Wilson