Dvergsten Claims Greenbush Opener, Kwiatkowski Gets First BRRP Win


Dexter Dvergsten wins at Greenbush. Photo by Valerie Truscinski


Zak Kwiatkowski wins at Buffalo River Race Park. Photo by Mike Spieker

By Mike Spieker

(May 30, 2018) – The NLSA Lightning Sprints had their first multi-race weekend of the 2018 season over the long Memorial Day weekend. Greenbush Race Park in Greenbush, Minn. held their season opener, which brought in 12 NLSA teams.

Heat race wins went to Dexter Dvergsten and Alan Truscinski to start the night. Zak Kwiatkowski and Parker Monroe led the field to the green flag for the 15-lap main event.

Dvergsten quickly jumped out to the lead and opened up a comfortable advantage. Dvergsten had nearly a half-lap lead over Monroe in second before the caution slowed the field. Truscinski took advantage of the restart as he got by Kwiakowski and moved into second.

Dvergsten cruised to take the win over Truscinski as Kwiakowski, Alex Truscinski, and Presley Truedson rounded out the top five.

On Sunday, the NLSA Lightning Sprints had their third race of the year at Buffalo River Race Park in Glyndon, Minn. By night’s end, the track produced its third different winner.

Zak Kwiatkoski drove to his first career NLSA lightning sprints win at Buffalo River. Kwiatkoski led all 20 laps en route to the win.

The best action on the track was the battle for second. Last week’s winner Josh Abrahamson and Tim Estenson, who was competing in his first ever lightning sprint event after winning the legends feature, were battling for the position. Estenson started 10th on the grid and briefly took the second spot, but faded back to sixth by the checkers.

Like Dvergsten Saturday at Greenbush, Kwiatkoski also picked up a clean sweep at Buffalo River as he won heat race number two.

For the second week in a row, Lawrence Veralrud grabbed a convincing heat race win. After the first four races, Veralrud leads the NLSA points.

5/26/18 – Greenbush:
A Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. 11-Dexter Dvergsten, [3]; 2. 13-Alan Truscinski, [5]; 3. 17K-Zachary Kwiatkoski, [1]; 4. 10-Alex Truscinski, [6]; 5. 2K-Presley Truedson, [8]; 6. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, [7]; 7. 30M-Parker Monroe, [2]; 8. 11M-Mark Williams, [9]; 9. 100-Jason Berg, [12]; 10. 93-Kelsi Pederson, [4]; 11. (DNF) 22H-Dylan Herman, [10]; 12. (DNF) 19-Brad Borowicz, [11]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Dexter Dvergsten, [1]; 2. 30M-Parker Monroe, [2]; 3. 93-Kelsi Pederson, [5]; 4. 2K-Presley Truedson, [3]; 5. 22H-Dylan Herman, [4]; (DNS) 100-Jason Berg,

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 13-Alan Truscinski, [3]; 2. 10-Alex Truscinski, [6]; 3. 17K-Zachary Kwiatkoski, [2]; 4. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, [4]; 5. 11M-Mark Williams, [5]; 6. 19-Brad Borowicz, [1]

5/27/18 – Buffalo River:
A Feature 1: 1. 17K-Zachary Kwiatkoski, [4]; 2. 16-Josh Abrahamson, [6]; 3. 10-Alex Truscinski, [8]; 4. 2-Jade Hastings, [9]; 5. 13-Alan Truscinski, [7]; 6. 13T-Tim Estenson, [10]; 7. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, [3]; 8. 1M-Mark Williams, [5]; 9. 22-Dylan Herman, [1]; (DNS) 100-Jason Berg,

Heat 1: 1. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, [2]; 2. 13-Alan Truscinski, [4]; 3. 2-Jade Hastings, [5]; 4. 1M-Mark Williams, [3]; 5. 22-Dylan Herman, [1]

Heat 2: 1. 17K-Zachary Kwiatkoski, [2]; 2. 13T-Tim Estenson, [5]; 3. 10-Alex Truscinski, [4]; 4. 16-Josh Abrahamson, [3]; 5. (DNF) 100-Jason Berg, [1]

via NLSA Lightning Sprints – News http://www.nlsasprints.com/news/dvergsten-claims-greenbush-opener-kwiatkowski-gets-first-brrp-win

Leave a Reply