Nygaard Claims Sixth Norman County Raceway Win

By Mike Spieker

ADA, Minn. (June 21, 2018) – The Buffalo Wild Wings NOSA Sprint Cars made their first of two visits of 2018 to Norman County Raceway Thursday for night two of the Ada Nationals at the Norman County Fair. A capacity crowd was on hand to witness twenty-four 900+ horsepower Sprint Cars take on the high-banked three-eighths-mile oval. Wade Nygaard of Grand Forks raced to his sixth career win at NCR by night’s end in what was a wild Sprint Car main event.
The NOSA Sprints’ traditional four-wide salute to the fans with the Norman County Fair in the background
Nygaard and all-time NOSA wins leader, Mark Dobmeier, led the field to the green flag. Dobmeier grabbed the early lead over Nygaard as Thomas Kennedy slid past Jack Croaker for third. On lap four, Nygaard found some bite around the outside of turns one and two and drove around the outside of Dobmeier for the lead.

Dobmeier fought back on the inside in turn three as the two veteran drivers traded the top spot back and forth. The two swapped slide jobs once more in turns one and two before the caution slowed them on lap five.

The race endured a long green flag stretch around the halfway point as Dobmeier and Nygaard distanced themselves from the rest of the field. Kennedy ran in third until he made contact with a spinning lapped car.

The final caution flew with four laps to go and set up a dramatic finish between NOSA’s two most accomplished drivers. Dobmeier got the jump on the restart and opened up a somewhat comfortable lead over Nygaard, but with two laps remaining, Dobmeier’s Buffalo Wild Wings No. 13 machine suffered a mechanical failure in the rear end, which forced him to pull into the infield. Nygaard inherited the lead coming to the white flag and cruised to the win.

Austin Pierce, who started 21st, got by Nick Omdahl on the final lap to secure the second position.

Feature: 1. 9N-Wade Nygaard, [1]; 2. 2A-Austin Pierce, [21]; 3. 0-Nick Omdahl, [8]; 4. 20A-Jordan Adams, [5]; 5. 13T-Ty Hanten, [7]; 6. 2JR-Kelly Miller, [10]; 7. 8B-Jack Croaker, [4]; 8. 99-Jordan Graham, [9]; 9. 4M-Cale Mack, [16]; 10. 6-Zach Wilde, [14]; 11. 12-Brayden Pengilly, [19]; 12. (DNF) 26-Blake Egeland, [17]; 13. (DNF) 13-Mark Dobmeier, [2]; 14. (DNF) 31-Shane Roemeling, [11]; 15. (DNF) 24-Jon Sorenson, [13]; 16. (DNF) 1AJ-Trevor Mell, [12]; 17. (DNF) 35-Brenden Wilde, [15]; 18. (DNF) 11M-Brendan Mullen, [18]; 19. (DNF) 14-Tom Egeland, [22]; 20. (DNF) 10TRB-Bob Martin, [20]; 21. (DNF) 4J-Lee Grosz, [3]; 22. (DNF) 22-Tanner Wisk, [23]; (DNS) 8H-Jade Hastings, ; (DQ) 21K-Thomas Kennedy, [6]

Heat 1: 1. 21K-Thomas Kennedy, [7]; 2. 99-Jordan Graham, [2]; 3. 1AJ-Trevor Mell, [1]; 4. 2JR-Kelly Miller, [6]; 5. 4M-Cale Mack, [3]; 6. 6-Zach Wilde, [8]; 7. 10TRB-Bob Martin, [5]; 8. (DNF) 22-Tanner Wisk, [4]
Heat 2: 1. 4J-Lee Grosz, [1]; 2. 13-Mark Dobmeier, [3]; 3. 31-Shane Roemeling, [2]; 4. 13T-Ty Hanten, [7]; 5. 35-Brenden Wilde, [4]; 6. (DNF) 24-Jon Sorenson, [8]; 7. (DNF) 2A-Austin Pierce, [6]; 8. (DNF) 14-Tom Egeland, [5]
Heat 3: 1. 20A-Jordan Adams, [2]; 2. 8B-Jack Croaker, [4]; 3. 9N-Wade Nygaard, [5]; 4. 0-Nick Omdahl, [7]; 5. 26-Blake Egeland, [3]; 6. 12-Brayden Pengilly, [1]; 7. 11M-Brendan Mullen, [8]; 8. (DNF) 8H-Jade Hastings, [6]

via NOSA – Northern Outlaw Sprint Association – News http://www.nosasprints.com/news/nygaard-claims-sixth-norman-county-raceway-win

Leave a Reply