PREVIEW: Buffalo Wild Wings Blazin’ Challenge Qualifier #2 at Devils Lake


Nick Omdahl races around turn one at Devils Lake Speedway. Photo by Mike Spieker (

By Mike Spieker

CRARY, N.D. (June 14, 2018) – The Buffalo Wild Wings NOSA Sprints will make their fourth appearance of the year to Devils Lake Speedway this Saturday night. The 410 Sprint car touring series will co-headline the evening with the NLRA Late Models for the second time this season at the high-banked quarter-mile clay oval. 

Nestled in between a pair of World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series events at River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks on Friday and Nodak Speedway in Minot on Sunday, a few new faces are expected to be seen with the NOSA Sprints at Devils Lake.

Semi-regulars with the NOSA Sprints, Mark Dobmeier and Thomas Kennedy, will both be in action. Fresno, California’s Dominic Scelzi has also confirmed he will be making his first-ever NOSA appearance.

Kennedy has three career wins at Devils Lake Speedway, while Dobmeier has yet to capture his first checkered flag at the “Devil’s Playground.”

Wade Nygaard leads all drivers with 14 career victories at Devils Lake Speedway. The nine-time NOSA champion is the series’ most recent winner, picking up the win last Saturday night at Jamestown Speedway in Jamestown, N.D.

Nick Omdahl has been the driver to beat as of late at Devils Lake. The East Grand Forks, Minn. driver has won two of the first three events at Devils Lake this season and has five career wins there.

Saturday’s event will also be the second event of Buffalo Wild Wings Blazin’ Challenge Tour. All NOSA teams that race all Blazin’ Challenge qualifying events will earn an $820 Blazin’ Bonus. The top eight qualifiers from the qualifying races will be locked into the dash for the $8,200-to-win Blazin’ Back Row Challenge on Friday, Sept. 7th at River Cities Speedway. Qualifying race winners are automatically qualified for the dash. If there are less than eight winners from the qualifying races, the remaining positions will be determined by NOSA points.

Green flag drops at 7pm. For more information, visit

NOSA Notebook:
Previous Devils Lake Speedway Winners:

2000: Wade Nygaard (2)
2001: Wade Nygaard
         Mark Dobmeier
         Bobby Martin
2002: Wade Nygaard (3)
2003: Mark Dobmeier
2005: Wade Nygaard (2)
2006: Dave Sobczak
2007: Bobby Martin
         Casey Mack 
         Lee Grosz
2008: Lou Kennedy Jr.
2011: Wade Nygaard (2)
         Casey Mack (2)
2012: Chris Shirek
         Jeff Brey
2013: Thomas Kennedy
2014: Thomas Kennedy (2)
2015: Wade Nygaard
         Chris Shirek
         Brenden Wilde
2016: Wade Nygaard
         Casey Mack
         Nick Omdahl
2017: Casey Mack
         Nick Omdahl (2)
         Wade Nygaard (2)
2018: Jade Hastings
​          Nick Omdahl (2)

View the flyer below for complete Blazin’ Challenge details.

via NOSA – Northern Outlaw Sprint Association – News

Leave a Reply