Veralrud Claims BRRP Win, Truscinski Dominates River Cities


Photo courtesy Nikki Huber

By Mike Spieker

(June 26, 2018) – The NLSA Lightning Sprints had a three-race weekend scheduled for the first weekend of summer. Saturday’s event at River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks was washed out due to rain, but the series still got one night of action in at the Bullring as well as Sunday’s event at Buffalo River Race Park in Glyndon, Minn.

Seventy-seven year old driver, Lawrence Veralrud of Olso, Minn., claimed his first career win Sunday at BRRP. Veralrud started on the outside of the front row and took the lead on lap one. He soon had his hands full with Presley Truedson, who briefly took the lead before a caution came out.

On the restart, Kelsi Pederson challenged Truedson for second, which allowed Veralrud to open up his lead. Pederson claimed the runner-up spot and set her sights on Veralrud for the lead. Undeterred, Veralrud held off Pederson to claim that coveted first victory. Pederson, Truedson, Alex Truscinski and Zak Kwiatkoski rounded out the top five.

Alan Truscinski of Greenbush picked up his first NLSA Lightning Sprint feature win of the season Friday night at River Cities Speedway. Truscinski led all 15 trips around the Bullring after taking the lead on the opening lap from outside of the front row. Truscinski stretched out his advantage in the early laps as Josh Abrahamson, Dexter Dvergsten and Presley Truedson raced for second. ​

The caution was displayed with fives laps to go. On the ensuing restart, a three car pile up on the front stretch brought out the red flag. Alex Truscinski and Brendan Mullen both got upside down. Truscinski got the worst end of the deal as he went end-over-end twice before coming to rest. Kelsi Pederson was also involved in the incident and all three were ok.
Once the race resumed, Truscinski jumped back out to a commanding lead as Truedson filed into second. Truscinski cruised to the win over Truedson, Dvergsten, Abrahamson and Kwiatkoski.

06.22.18 – River Cities Speedway:
Feature (15 Laps): 1. 13-Alan Truscinski, [2]; 2. 2T-Presley Truedson, [3]; 3. 11-Dexter Dvergsten, [6]; 4. 16-Josh Abrahamson, [4]; 5. 17K-Zachary Kwiatkoski, [1]; 6. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, [8]; 7. 21-Steve Hildebrand, [9]; 8. 79-Clifford Steyn, [10]; 9. (DNF) 93-Kelsi Pederson, [5]; 10. (DNF) 11M-Brendan Mullen, [17]; 11. (DNF) 10-Alex Truscinski, [7]; 12. (DNF) 100-Jason Berg, [11]; 13. (DNF) 1W-Mark Williams, [13]; 14. (DNF) 19-Dustin Hartwig, [12]; (DNS) 4-Eric Johnson, ; (DNS) 44D-Jim Hadfield, ; (DNS) 22H-Dylan Herman, ; (DNS) 30M-Parker Monroe,

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 16-Josh Abrahamson, [2]; 2. 2T-Presley Truedson, [3]; 3. 10-Alex Truscinski, [4]; 4. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, [6]; 5. 22H-Dylan Herman, [1]; 6. (DNF) 30M-Parker Monroe, [5]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Dexter Dvergsten, [6]; 2. 17K-Zachary Kwiatkoski, [1]; 3. 100-Jason Berg, [4]; 4. 1W-Mark Williams, [5]; 5. 21-Steve Hildebrand, [3]; 6. (DNF) 4-Eric Johnson, [2]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 93-Kelsi Pederson, [4]; 2. 13-Alan Truscinski, [3]; 3. 79-Clifford Steyn, [2]; (DNS) 19-Dustin Hartwig, ; (DNS) 11M-Brendan Mullen, ; (DNS) 44D-Jim Hadfield,

06.24.18 – Buffalo River Race Park:
Feature: 1. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, [2]; 2. 93-Kelsi Pederson, [5]; 3. 2-Presley Truedson, [7]; 4. 10-Alex Truscinski, [9]; 5. 17K-Zachary Kwiatkoski, [4]; 6. 13-Alan Truscinski, [8]; 7. 14T-Tim Estenson, [3]; 8. 100-Jason Berg, [1]; 9. 16-Josh Abrahamson, [6]; 10. 1-Mark Williams, [10]

Heat 1: 1. 14T-Tim Estenson, [2]; 2. 93-Kelsi Pederson, [3]; 3. 2-Presley Truedson, [4]; 4. 10-Alex Truscinski, [5]; (DNS) 100-Jason Berg,
Heat 2: 1. 17K-Zachary Kwiatkoski, [2]; 2. 13-Alan Truscinski, [4]; 3. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, [1]; 4. 16-Josh Abrahamson, [3]; 5. 1-Mark Williams, [5]

via NLSA Lightning Sprints – News

Leave a Reply