Omdahl Claims Seventh Career Devils Lake Speedway Win

By Mike Spieker

CRARY, N.D. (July 21, 2018) – For the third time this season and seventh time overall, Nick Omdahl claimed the Buffalo Wild Wings NOSA Sprints / CAOSS feature win. 

Third place starter, Greg Nikitenko, raced by Jordan Adams and Wade Nygaard to take the lead on the opening lap. Nikitenko pulled out to a five car length lead as Adams and Shane Roemeling completed the top three in the early stages. 

At the halfway point, Nikitenko had stretched his advantage to a full straightaway. Meanwhile, Omdahl slid by Adams for the second position. With 10 to go, the top side of the speedway began to take rubber, which played right into Omdahl’s hands. Omdahl quickly reeled in Nikitenko and blew by the No. 6N machine to take the lead. 

Nikitenko, who had been running the bottom of the speedway the entire race, followed Omdahl to the high side as Austin Pierce ran a close third. 

A trio of cautions with under six to go kept the field bunched up. Despite the restarts, Omdahl held on to take the win. Nygaard took advantage of the restarts to move from fourth to second as Pierce, Nikitenko and Roemeling rounded out the top five. 

“The bottom was really good at the start of the race. Then we caught up to Adams and got by him on the top for second. I couldn’t even see Nikitenko… he was way out front. I caught up to him… he was running the bottom. I don’t think he knew there was rubber up top,” said Omdahl of his charge to the lead. “I just got by him in the rubber on the top.” 

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 0-Nick Omdahl, 14:17.660[5]; 2. 9N-Wade Nygaard, 14:19.014[4]; 3. 2A-Austin Pierce, 14:20.075[8]; 4. 6N-Greg Nikitenko, 14:22.002[3]; 5. 31-Shane Roemeling, 14:22.529[7]; 6. 20A-Jordan Adams, 14:23.008[1]; 7. 10TRB-Bob Martin, 14:23.488[9]; 8. 11M-Brendan Mullen, 14:24.475[14]; 9. 8H-Jade Hastings, 14:20.919[6]; 10. 14-Tom Egeland, 14:24.987[11]; 11. 99-Jordan Graham, 14:25.167[16]; 12. 55T-Sam Miller, 14:27.110[17]; 13. 91K-Kyle Fedyk, 14:27.130[2]; 14. 12-Brayden Pengilly, 14:27.926[13]; 15. 20L-Dusty Lawson, 14:29.136[15]; 16. 20-Kevin Lawson, 14:32.269[12]; 17. (DNF) 4M-Cale Mack, 14:07.727[10]; 18. (DNF) 26-Blake Egeland, 14:08.245[18]; 19. (DNF) 55-Nick Ranten, 04:53.772[19]; 20. (DNF) 4-Colton Young, 00:27.274[20]

Heat 1
 (10 Laps): 1. 31-Shane Roemeling, 02:25.412[4]; 2. 2A-Austin Pierce, 02:25.489[7]; 3. 20A-Jordan Adams, 02:29.017[3]; 4. 14-Tom Egeland, 02:29.374[1]; 5. 20L-Dusty Lawson, 02:30.809[2]; 6. 99-Jordan Graham, 02:33.064[6]; 7. 55T-Sam Miller, 02:35.655[5]

Heat 2
 (10 Laps): 1. 0-Nick Omdahl, 02:27.974[2]; 2. 6N-Greg Nikitenko, 02:30.435[3]; 3. 91K-Kyle Fedyk, 02:32.766[5]; 4. 20-Kevin Lawson, 02:39.200[1]; 5. 12-Brayden Pengilly, 02:40.859[4]; 6. (DNF) 26-Blake Egeland, 01:40.060[6]; 7. (DNF) 4-Colton Young, 00:53.728[7]

​Heat 3
 (10 Laps): 1. 9N-Wade Nygaard, 04:13.933[1]; 2. 8H-Jade Hastings, 04:14.665[6]; 3. 10TRB-Bob Martin, 04:16.462[2]; 4. 4M-Cale Mack, 04:19.047[5]; 5. 11M-Brendan Mullen, 04:19.782[4]; 6. (DNF) 55-Nick Ranten, 00:24.955[3]

via NOSA – Northern Outlaw Sprint Association – News

Leave a Reply