Jade Hastings Scores Second Win of 2018 at Devils Lake Speedway


Photo courtesy of Steven Young.

By Mike Spieker

CRARY, N.D. (August 4, 2018) – Jade Hastings of Grand Forks scored his second NOSA / CAOSS win of the season at Devils Lake Speedway on Saturdya night. Hastings led all 25 circuits en route to the victory. 

“Starting up front was what really helped us out tonight,” said Hastings after the race. “At the beginning of the race, I tried running the bottom but that wasn’t working too well. After the second restart, the rubber started coming in so we set our sails and we were gone. I know Wade [Nygaard] was there the whole time, but it’s really hard to pass on a track like that.”

Fourth place starter, Nick Omdahl, went for the lead in the opening laps but slid off the track.

Nygaard, who started sixth, moved up to second by lap three. Blake Egeland, who was in search of his second win of the weekend after picking up his first career win the night before, ran in the third position. 

At the halfway point, Omdahl moved around Egeland to secure a spot inside the top five once again. 

A restart with seven laps to go regrouped the field, but Hastings was able to hold off the field as the race resumed. 

At the checkers, Hastings took the win over Nygaard, eighth place starter Brendan Mullen, Omdahl and Egeland. 

Mullen’s third place effort marked the second career podium finish for the NOSA rookie. 

The Buffalo Wild Wings NOSA Sprints return to action Friday night at River Cities Speedway for a non-points show at the Bullring.

Lap Leaders: Jade Hastings (1-25)
Hard Chargers: Brendan Mullen, Tom Egeland (+4)

A Feature 
(25 Laps): 1. 8H-Jade Hastings, [1]; 2. 9N-Wade Nygaard, [6]; 3. 11M-Brendan Mullen, [7]; 4. 0-Nick Omdahl, [4]; 5. 26-Blake Egeland, [3]; 6. 31-Shane Roemeling, [8]; 7. 13-Ty Hanten, [2]; 8. 47-Brant O’Banion, [11]; 9. 99-Jordan Graham, [5]; 10. 6N-Greg Nikitenko, [10]; 11. 14-Tom Egeland, [15]; 12. 20L-Dusty Lawson, [12]; 13. 20-Kevin Lawson, [13]; 14. 4-Colton Young, [17]; 15. (DNF) 20A-Jordan Adams, [9]; 16. (DNF) 12-Brayden Pengilly, [14]; 17. (DNF) 10TRB-Bob Martin, [16]

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 9N-Wade Nygaard, [4]; 2. 8H-Jade Hastings, [2]; 3. 11M-Brendan Mullen, [3]; 4. 20L-Dusty Lawson, [1]; 5. 47-Brant O’Banion, [6]; 6. 12-Brayden Pengilly, [5]

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 0-Nick Omdahl, [2]; 2. 99-Jordan Graham, [5]; 3. 6N-Greg Nikitenko, [1]; 4. 4-Colton Young, [6]; (DNS) 14-Tom Egeland, ; (DNS) 10TRB-Bob Martin,

Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 26-Blake Egeland, [2]; 2. 13-Ty Hanten, [4]; 3. 31-Shane Roemeling, [3]; 4. 20A-Jordan Adams, [5]; 5. 20-Kevin Lawson, [1]

via NOSA – Northern Outlaw Sprint Association – News http://www.nosasprints.com/news/jade-hastings-scores-second-win-of-2018-at-devils-lake-speedway

Leave a Reply