Nygaard Claims 15th Career NOSA Sprint Car Win at Devils Lake Speedway

CRARY, N.D. (August 25, 2018) – Devils Lake Speedway’s all-time Sprint Car wins leader tallied another victory to his total on Saturday night. Wade Nygaard of Grand Forks picked up the Buffalo Wild Wings NOSA / Canadian-American Outlaw Sprint Series win for his 15th career win at the speedway. The NOSA Sprints will return to Devils Lake next Saturday, Sept. 1 for their final appearance of the season.

Shane Roemeling and Jordan Graham led the field of 19 Sprint Cars to the green flag for the 25-lap feature. Roemeling led the first lap by a nose over third-place starter, Austin Pierce. Roemeling opened up a five car length gap on lap two over Pierce as Wade Nygaard and Jade Hastings fought for third.

A caution on lap five set up a double-file restart. As the race resumed, Nygaard jumped out to the lead but the red flag soon followed as Blake Egeland tipped over in turn two.

Roemeling led Pierce on the ensuing double file restart and jumped out to a big lead. Nine-time NOSA champion and current point leader, Nygaard, moved by Pierce on lap six and set his sights on Roemeling.

Nygaard took the lead on lap 10 as he drove around Roemeling in turns one and two and quickly opened up a big advantage. The race was slowed again on lap 15 as NOSA rookie, Brendan Mullen, slid off the track in turn two while running sixth.

Roemeling slid back to fourth on the restart as Jade Hastings and Pierce moved by him. The final restart came with five to go, where Pierce shot by Hastings in turn one.

Nygaard went on to easily claim his first Devils Lake Speedway win of the season.

Lap Leaders: Shane Roemeling (1-2), Austin Pierce (3), Shane Roemeling (4-9), Wade Nygaard (10-25)

Hard Charger: Brendan Wilde (+7)

NOSA / CAOSS Sprints:
A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 9N-Wade Nygaard, [4]; 2. 2A-Austin Pierce,[3]; 3. 8H-Jade Hastings,[8]; 4. 31-Shane Roemeling, [1]; 5. 10TRB-Bob Martin, [9]; 6. 13-Ty Hanten, [5]; 7. 99-Jordan Graham, [2]; 8. 35-Brenden Wilde, [15]; 9. 20L-Dusty Lawson, [12]; 10. 12-Brayden Pengilly, [16]; 11. 20-Kevin Lawson, [13]; 12. 4-Colton Young, [14]; 13. (DNF) 20A-Jordan Adams, [6]; 14. (DNF) 11M-Brendan Mullen, [7]; 15. (DNF) 14-Tom Egeland, [11]; 16. (DNF) 6-Zach Wilde,[18]; 17. (DNF) 26-Blake Egeland,[10]; (DNS) 6N-Greg Nikitenko,; (DNS) 55-Nick Ranten,

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 13-Ty Hanten, [1]; 2. 99-Jordan Graham, [2]; 3. 2A-Austin Pierce, [5]; 4. 14-Tom Egeland, [3]; 5. 20-Kevin Lawson, [4]; 6. 4-Colton Young, [7]; 7. (DNF) 6N-Greg Nikitenko, [6]

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 20A-Jordan Adams, [2]; 2. 11M-Brendan Mullen, [6]; 3. 10TRB-Bob Martin, [5]; 4. 20L-Dusty Lawson, [1]; 5. (DNF) 6-Zach Wilde, [4]; (DNS) 55-Nick Ranten,

Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 8H-Jade Hastings, [4]; 2. 31-Shane Roemeling, [1]; 3. 9N-Wade Nygaard, [6]; 4. 26-Blake Egeland, [5]; 5. 35-Brenden Wilde, [2]; 6. 12-Brayden Pengilly, [3]

Leave a Reply