Truscinski and Estenson race to victory lane

(June 19, 2019) – The NLSA Lightning Sprints returned to the southern Red River Valley for their second of three appearances at two three-eighths mile ovals.

Alex Truscinski of Greenbush dominated the NLSA Lighting Sprint main event at Norman County Raceway on Thursday night. Truscinski started on the outside of the front row and pulled away to a big lead over Dexter Dvergsten of Greenbush. Dvergsten closed the gap to within two car lengths on the final lap, but Truscinski held on to go back-to-back at NCR. The NLSA Lightning Sprints will make their third and final appearance to the high-banked three-eights mile oval on August 8th.

Tim Estenson of Fargo, who scored an INEX legend feature win at Red River Valley Speedway last week, was competing with the NLSA lightning sprints on Friday. Estenson and fellow front row starter, Alex Truscinski of Greenbush, Minn., engaged in a hard-fought battle for the win. Truscinski looked to take the lead away from Estenson on the final lap as he was able to catch Estenson on the backstretch. Truscinski had the slim advantage going into the final set of corners on the last lap, but Estenson dove underneath him into the final set of turns to steal the win at the finish line. The win marked Estenson’s second victory in a Lightning Sprint of his career and the first at Red River Valley Speedway.

The NLSA Lightning Sprints have a busy weekend. Friday night the series will be at River Cities Speedway, which will be aired live on Midco Sports Network. Saturday the series heads west to Devils Lake Speedway, followed by another trip to River Cities Speedway to close out the Greater Grand Forks Fair.


Norman County Raceway

A Feature 1: 1. 10-Alex Truscinski, 04:46.994[2]; 2. 11-Dexter Dvergsten, 04:47.375[4]; 3. 13-Alan Truscinski, 04:50.939[1]; 4. 93-Kelsi Pederson, 04:51.165[6]; 5. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, 04:54.605[8]; 6. 33-Murray Temple, 04:55.747[7]; 7. 100-Jason Berg, 04:58.177[9]; 8. 60X-Patrick Brejcha, 04:59.505[5]; 9. 10H-Danny Hazemann, 05:05.865[11]; 10. (DNF) 16-Josh Abrahamson, 03:15.534[3]; 11. (DNF) 14-Tim Estenson, 01:03.159[10]; 12. (DNF) 1-Mark Williams, 01:03.159[12]

Heat 1: 1. 10-Alex Truscinski, [1]; 2. 11-Dexter Dvergsten, [4]; 3. 93-Kelsi Pederson, [3]; 4. 60X-Patrick Brejcha, [6]; 5. 14-Tim Estenson, [2]; 6. (DNF) 1-Mark Williams, [5]

Heat 2: 1. 13-Alan Truscinski, [1]; 2. 16-Josh Abrahamson, [4]; 3. 33-Murray Temple, [2]; 4. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, [3]; 5. 100-Jason Berg, [5]; 6. 10H-Danny Hazemann, [6]

Red River Valley Speedway

A Feature 1: 1. 14T-Tim Estenson, 03:22.336[2]; 2. 10-Alex Truscinski, 03:22.437[1]; 3. 16-Josh Abrahamson, 03:24.428[3]; 4. 11-Dexter Dvergsten, 03:25.053[4]; 5. 100-Jason Berg, 03:28.881[6]; 6. 13-Alan Truscinski, 03:30.379[8]; 7. 33-Murray Temple, 03:30.952[5]; 8. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, 03:32.251[7]; 9. 19S-Travis Surerus, 03:32.251[9]

Heat 1: 1. 10-Alex Truscinski, 01:32.201[4]; 2. 14T-Tim Estenson, 01:34.960[1]; 3. 16-Josh Abrahamson, 01:35.214[3]; 4. 100-Jason Berg, 01:36.961[2]; 5. 11-Dexter Dvergsten, 01:37.083[7]; 6. 33-Murray Temple, 01:38.092[9]; 7. 40-Lawrence Veralrud, 01:38.917[8]; 8. 13-Alan Truscinski, 01:40.451[5]; 9. 19S-Travis Surerus, 01:43.417[6]

Leave a Reply