Greseth goes back-to-back at Buffalo River Race Park

GLYNDON, Minn. – Michael Greseth recorded his second consecutive IMCA modified feature win at Buffalo River Race Park Sunday evening. Greseth, of Harwood, N.D., started on the pole of the 20-lap feature event after winning his heat race.

Greseth got the jump on outside front row starter, Karmith Christenson, to lead the opening lap. Sixth place starter, Bryce Borgen, was on the move in the early going. Borgen quickly moved into the second spot and challenged Greseth for the lead.

As the two drivers battled for the lead, Borgen got into the back of Greseth, spinning him around to bring out the caution. As a result, Borgen was sent to the tail of the field, while Greseth reclaimed his spot in the lead.

On the restart, Rob VanMil began moving his way up the running order. VanMil, who started seventh and has four wins at BRRP this season, moved into second with 14 laps to go and put Greseth in his crosshairs.

But Greseth was just too fast.

VanMil closed to within a half-second of Greseth in the closing laps, but Greseth had his Innovative Air No. 17 hooked up around the semi-banked quarter-mile dirt oval and cruised to his fourth win of the season at BRRP. The win ties him with VanMil for the most in the track’s premier division.

Tyler Hall was the hard charger of the race, advancing from 12th to finish fourth.

Scott Jacobson was victorious in the IMCA sportmods for the second time at BRRP this season. Jacobson drove from the third starting position around Dan Evert and Krieg Kasin to take the lead with 10 laps down and 10 to go.

Evert, who started on the pole of the event, hung with the veteran Jacobson, but had his hands full with David Slovick in the final stages. Jacobson took the win by just over three-quarters of a second as sportmod rookie, Evert, held off Slovick for his best career finish.

Alan Truscinski picked up the NLSA lightning sprint feature. The veteran driver from Greenbush, Minn. held off 14-year-old Brendan Mullen for his second win of the season at BRRP.

After a month of bad luck at BRRP, 15-year-old INEX legends driver Tim Estenson returned to Outlet Recreation Victory Lane. Estenson started ninth on the 19-car field and held off last week’s winner, Troy Hoff, for his sixth win of the season in Glyndon and 20th overall victory of the season.

Tim Church claimed his division leading seventh IMCA hobby stock feature win. Church drove by pole sitter, Nick Nelson, and Torey Fischer to take the lead. In the closing laps, he outran Joseph Gonska to take the checkers.

Jason Reinke started ninth and won the IMCA sport compact feature. Cole Babcock picked up his second consecutive win in the slingshots.

Racing continues next Sunday at Buffalo River Race Park. Green flag drops at 6pm.


IMCA Modifieds:

Feature – 1. Michael Greseth, Harwood, N.D.; 2. Rob VanMil, Barnesville, Minn.; 3. Jamie Schulz, Harwood, N.D.; 4. Tyler Hall, Fertile, Minn.; 5. Bryce Bjerke, Gardner, N.D.

IMCA SportMods:

Feature – 1. Scott Jacobson, Fargo, N.D.; 2. Dan Evert, Sabin, Minn.; 3. David Slovick, Anoka, Minn.; 4. Vince Jegtvig, Dilworth, Minn.; 5. Kelly Jacobson, Fargo, N.D.

NLSA Lightning Sprints:

Feature – 1. Alan Truscinski, Greenbush, Minn.; 2. Brendan Mullen, Grand Forks, N.D.; 3. Josh Abrahamson, Moorhead, Minn.; 4. Kelsi Pederson, East Grand Forks, Minn.; 5. Zac Kwiatkoski, Grand Forks, N.D.

INEX Legends:

Feature – 1. Tim Estenson, Fargo, N.D.; 2. Troy Hoff, Flasher, N.D.; 3. Casey Henriksen, Moorhead, Minn.; 4. Scott Richardson, Pelican Rapids, Minn.; 5. Chad Sogge, Barnesville, Minn.

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Feature – 1. Tim Church, Moorhead, Minn.; 2. Joseph Gonska, Breezypoint, Minn.; 3. Torey Fischer, West Fargo, N.D.; 4. Tim Gonska, Brainerd, Minn.; 5. Maranda Borg, Harwood, N.D.

IMCA Sport Compacts:

Feature – 1. Jason Reinke, Moorhead, Minn.; 2. Brady Moore, Ulen, Minn.; 3. Parker Bilden, Erhard, Minn.; 4. Randy Thompson, Lake Park, Minn.; 5. Daniel Harstad, Fergus Falls, Minn.

Leave a Reply