Event Preview: River Cities & Devils Lake Speedway

July 6, 2017 – As the Buffalo Wild Wings NOSA Sprint Car schedule reaches the second half of the season, each and every event begins to mean more as the points race heats up. This weekend, drivers and race teams will have plenty of opportunity to make some moves in the standings with two complete shows on tap, plus the June 9th make-up feature.

It all begins Friday night at River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks.

Last week, Wade Nygaard and Chris Ranten put on the race of the evening as they traded slidejob after slidejob on the high-banks of The Bullring in the closing laps. In the end, Nygaard reigned supreme and parked his Auto Finance Super Center No. 9N in RydellCars.com Victory Lane for the 56th time at RCS.

On Saturday, the tour will head to Devils Lake Speedway in Crary, N.D. for their second of four appearances at the high-banked quarter-mile oval.

The series made their first visit to Devils Lake on June 3rd, where Casey Mack picked up his fourth career Devils Lake victory.

Last Saturday night at Greenbush, Jade Hastings picked up his first career win. Devils Lake has yielded first time winners each of the last two seasons with Brenden Wilde and Nick Omdahl.

Trent Stengl, Blake Egeland, and Jordan Graham, who finished second to Hastings at Greenbush, are the highest drivers in NOSA points without a win and all have been strong throughout the year.

Racing on both Friday and Saturday starts at 7pm.

NOSA Notebook:

Previous Devils Lake Speedway Winners:

2000: Wade Nygaard (2)
2001: Wade Nygaard
         Mark Dobmeier
Bobby Martin
2002: Wade Nygaard (3)
2003: Mark Dobmeier
2005: Wade Nygaard (2)
2006: Dave Sobczak
2007: Bobby Martin
         Casey Mack
Lee Grosz
2008: Lou Kennedy Jr.
2011: Wade Nygaard (2)
         Casey Mack (2)
2012: Chris Shirek
         Jeff Brey
2013: Thomas Kennedy
2014: Thomas Kennedy (2)
2015: Wade Nygaard
         Chris Shirek
Brenden Wilde
2016: Wade Nygaard
         Casey Mack
Nick Omdahl

Leave a Reply