GREENBUSH, Minn. (November 16, 2019) – The Northern Lightning Sprint Association completed its 11th season in 2019 and crowned its eighth different series champion. Alex Truscinski of Greenbush, Minn. claimed his first championship by 14 markers over 2018 series titlist, Kelsi Pederson, of East Grand Forks, Minn. Truscinski was a model of consistency in 2019, garnering 13 top fives and 14 top tens in the 16 NLSA events held this season. 

Truscinski dominated at Norman County Raceway in Ada, Minn. His average finish at the three-eighths mile oval was an incredible 1.6 as he collected a pair of wins, including the season opener on May 31st, and a third-place finish in three appearances. 

Truscinski’s other two wins came at Devils Lake Speedway in Crary, N.D. on June 22nd and at his home track, Greenbush Raceway Park, on July 20th. 

2019 By the numbers:
1 – There has still been only one repeat champion with the NLSA Lightning Sprints (Roland Bernard – 4-time champion)

5 – Most wins this season by a driver (Kelsi Pederson)

8 – The number of different race track the series visited this season (Norman County Raceway, Red River Valley Speedway, River Cities Speedway, Greenbush Race Park, Devils Lake Speedway, Sheyenne Speedway, Tri-County Speedway, Jamestown Speedway)

8 – The number of different feature winners with the series this season (Alex Truscinski, Alan Truscinski, Kelsi Pederson, Jason Berg, Zak Kwiatkowski, Murray Temple, Josh Abrahamson, Tim Estenson)

14 – The margin of victory by Alex Truscinski over Kelsi Pederson in the point standings

23 – The number of different drivers who competed with NLSA in 2019

Leave a Reply